Merrell and Moving…and more Moving

A few months ago we were talking with our friends about our plans to quit our jobs to climb mountains and travel South America. One of those people was our friend Dave who used to work for Merrell (an outdoor apparel company) but now works for their sister company, Chaco. He thought Merrell might be interested in following us on our journey so he put us in contact with Merrell’s Social Media person. After several emails and a conference call, James and I will be providing content for their social media sites in exchange for Merrell gear to use on our adventure. This week we received 14 boxes full of Merrell apparel!!!  I’m really excited to document our travels but at the same time I’m a bit apprehensive. It’s one thing to start our own blog and write posts at my leisure but now we’re on the hook to consistently be keeping up with it. At least for the 14er portion of our adventure, we will be providing social media material (mainly video) on a weekly basis. I’ll make sure I post Merrell’s content on this site too!

My life is feeling a bit surreal at this point. Everyone keeps asking me if I’m excited but I haven’t really been able to think about how excited I am. Since I am working all the way up until we leave for the mountains, I feel like I have too much to do between now and then to focus on being excited. My free time is consumed more with address change forms, adding pages to my passport, and moving than daydreaming about our adventure.

Last night we handed the keys over to the couple who will be renting our house. We are officially homeless. When I tell people that we will be living in our car for two months they look at me like I’m crazy and generally their reaction is something like “that sounds awful!”. However, for me it’s one of the things I’m looking forward to the most. After several years of planting roots in Denver, I have started to feel bogged down by all our “stuff”. When you live in one place for an extended period of time you tend to acquire things (as everyone knows who has ever moved). I can’t wait for the freedom of living simply with everything we need in one, small place. Although, it will be interesting to see what our thoughts are after 2 months of actually doing this. I may change my mind 🙂

Tonight we drive to the base of our first 14er of the summer!

2 thoughts on “Merrell and Moving…and more Moving

  1. You are not allowed to change your mind!! Just kidding. I am so excited and super proud that my friends are doing this. And that I get to brag about you guys and say that I don’t think it’s crazy, but rather a sane way to reconnect with nature and God and everything good. Why doesn’t anyone else think that doing the same thing everyday is crazy???
    Love you guys!
    -weav

Leave a Reply

